Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve had my blower for 1.5 seasons now. Last year I didn’t do any of the lubricating steps as id only used it for a handful of hours and I honestly wasn’t comfortable doing so.

This year I want to do the right maintenance and between the manual and YouTube videos I think I’m comfortable lubricating the gear shaft and wheels and probably the chute control, but the auger is confusing me, for two reasons...

First the manual just says “spray lubricant”, nothing about what kind. The others say automotive grease or 3-in-1 oil or something. This says just “lubricant”. What Vaseline? WD-14? Motor oil? 🙂 I presume not and I presume it just says that because there’s a lot of valid choices. But I’m a total newb... what’s the parameters of what’s okay to use?

Secondly, when I find videos of people doing it they’re doing two totally different things (YouTube videos are usually my key to feeling like I know what to do). One videos shows a guy using a grease gun to push grease into where the shear pin was removed from “until grease squeezes out the ends”. Another video just shows someone using a spray can to spray some of the flange bearings and spacers (honestly I had no idea what a flange was until I was looking this stuff up last night).

Further, the two ideas (spraying inside the shear pin holes and spraying the outer tube) seem to require two different kinds of grease.

I have a CubCadet two stage and the manual says “Remove shear pins and cotter pins from auger shaft. Spray lubricant inside shaft and around spacers and flange bearings at either end of the shaft(s)”.

Can someone clarify what I’m supposed to be doing here and what kind of lubricant to use?

·
Registered
1,812 Posts