Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I am new to 2 stage snow blowers and looking for some advice on what to tackle first after you bought your first used snow blower. I paid $200 for the 286LE after looking at a few others and doing some research. I realize it is a Tecumseh engine, but I have a Tecumseh engine in my lawnmower and not had any issues and have done usual maintenance and run with sta-bil additive in all my small engines.

When I purchased the snowblower, the electric start works, the engine sounded good, but the engine was surging and could not hold a low idle. Did notice a small spark coming from exhaust once or twice, but not all the time. All forward 6 were good, both reverse worked although a little squeak from R1. Auger had good speed. There was some underpaint rust on the housing, but nothing had gone through the metal. I checked the bearing play on the auger and that seemed fine too. The chute control worked well, no sticking or noise. I managed to drive the blower up into the back of my pickup with no issue, also started on first pull taking it out of the truck. Also connecting rods were dull and pitted but now rusted.

So the question is what to start on first. No snow expected and I still have a power clear. I cannot post pictures as this is my first post so a summer project.

What would you suggest is the best sequence and what would you suggest replacing straight of the bat?

Any help appreciated

·
Registered
1,810 Posts