Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for a winter project, and I think it may be a pimped out old blower. I will be upfront and say that I'm not too familiar with them, Which is why I would like input on what I should start with.
I currently have and old craftsman that I have a million ideas of how to customize it to make it better and more user friendly, but I'm not sure if it is the best candidate for the project. I have 15 years of welding and design experience, and very mechanically inclined. I have access to a full welding shop including a cnc plasma table, and that is also where I rebuilt the 5.9 cummins in my work truck.

Any thoughts on what I should start with?

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
]

That is a sweet build, but really the opposite of what I am thinking. I have done the overpowered muscle car that can't take full throttle til half track, and I guess I have outgrown the big motor thing.

I'm thinking more custom details with 10 or 12 horses pulling a 28" 3 stage. Lots of custom parts and design. I'm not really sure. Maybe I will just work on this one until I find the perfect host.

·
Premium Member
7 Posts
I would go with the auger and housing that supports the 14" 6 blade impeller It can better harness the velocity and power generated by the twin cylinder engine. Nice piece no matter what but it would be a leap ahead

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
If I was to run a big twin it would be a 48" with a 14" 4 blade with the blade width doubled and a 20% increase in impeller speed. That would theoretically move more than twice the snow. If you go more than 20% more power than stock, in my opinion, you need a custom impeller, or it is a waste.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)