Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,313 Posts
I remember in NJ that year, 3 snows of 24" or so, on my own as a single man, first job, first house, than that, digging out my driveway. To prep for the following year I bought a pickup truck, put a plow on it, got a townhouse complex with no snow blower! Had several guys out shoveling! Stupid of me! Stupid stupid stupid! Bought a used Gravely Convertible 12hp. Wow, what a machine. I still have it today. Never breaks. Heavy!!! 450 lbs.

·
Registered
668 Posts
Local Boston News Station (WBZ Channel 4) is doing a 40th anniversary Blizzard of 78 "look-back" this Sunday (1/28) @ 8:30 AM. Still remember my father trying to open the front storm door, but the snow was already 30" high, so he ended up pulling the top glass panes off the door so we could crawl out the door into the snow. Vivid memories of that blizzard.

·
Registered
550 Posts
Remember it well. I worked as a mechanic in a gas station. Installed a lot of tire chains that day.
We had so much snow and no place to put it. Had to get front end loader to move it all around.

Dads '67 5 hp Ariens was humping snow that storm.

·
Registered
111 Posts
We had two blizzards in quick succession in 1978. As I recall, the Blizzard of 1978 in Massachusetts refers to the second that hit us on February 6 into the evening of February 7. Thousands of cars were abandoned on Route 128 or 95 as it is now known. The National Guard opened the highway with front end loaders The "Duke" (Gov. Michael Dukakis) declared a state of emergency for the remainder of the week - it started on a Monday. Naturally, my Tecumseh decided to throw a rod at this time.

·
Registered
842 Posts