Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Premium Member
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello, snow gurus --

Newbie here, I've enjoyed reading (lurking) on some of your forums. Now I find that I have a problem with my much-loved Ariens ST26DLE.

I did a search of the Forum but it kept returning 'no results.' I find that hard to believe, so forgive me if this is a topic that everyone has seen/read about a hundred times.

I prepped it in October 2017 for the season and it ran just fine. I use ethanol-free gas only in all my yard gear.

Today when I started it up electrically, it immediately spewed oil out of the left side of the engine compartment. I quickly killed the blower and then stood around staring at the dirtied snow with my mouth hanging open. DOH.... I've never had the slightest problem with it.

I'm not an especially gifted wrench-turner, although I do a little bit on my motorcycles. I removed the lower black casing on the B&S engine and couldn't really see anything amiss. There is a black hose that seems to be just floating around, but I suspect that might be a breather hose.

Also, after reading some other posts here, I took a sniff of the dipstick -- and dang it, it *does* smell like gas. I looked like a freak because then I was sniffing my John Deere dipstick, then my two motos' dipsticks. They all just smell...oily. But the Ariens smells like a gas station. So -- gas in the crankcase, maybe? :crying:

If so, that's currently beyond my tech abilities, and I'll have to look for a repair shop.

Here's a link (I hope) to 4 photos on Imgur. The photos are out of order, I'm afraid.

Thanks for any advice!

·
Registered
871 Posts
only seen/find one pic. idk the problem but if u can attach photos to post it be much better for future reference, very easy todo just make sure photos are max 1080p

·
Registered
3,866 Posts
Welcome! Sorry to hear that. As I was reading, I was wondering about gas in the oil, raising the "oil" level too high.