Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday I was called by a buddy with a very bad surging issue at low speed, he has a 10 year old Honda a pretty big rubber track job. We went through every last thing, cleaned the carb reset the governor. THe setup for the governor was wrong in the manual but that was easily figured out! We were still scratching our heads when I thought of the one thing we din not check idle speed, it was bouncing so badly who would have thought!!!!!!!!!! Over time the plastic screw had worked its way out, a few turns of the screw driver and it purred like a kitten. As usual one cannot see the forest for the trees, I have been a mechanic for near 50 years and let something that simple get to me. Moral if your machine starts to surge check the idle first, all the governor sees is the speed getting to low and it responds by bouncing the RPM up and down.

Phil

·
Retired Moderator
3,149 Posts
Thanks for pointing that out Oldphil. Like you said, sometimes we can't see the forest for the trees, and we over analyze.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Just bought a used 3-5 year old hs724ta. The engine surges at low all the way up to high speed. I called the person that sold it to me and he recommended to change the gas .It has been sitting in the unit for over a year. its funny ,when i revved the engine and went into the choke and back to low speed theidol leveled .I shut it off and then started it again and it started surging again. ANY IDEAS?

·
Retired Moderator
3,149 Posts