Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a 2013 Ram 1500 with a sprayed on bedliner and a 3 fold bed cover. Whenever it snows my brother will take care of his house and then head to my house to help me finish. We'll then head to our sisters house to help our brother-in-law and then we'll all go take care of our parents house. Luckily we all live about 5-10 minutes from each other.

We've only had lightweight single stage machines so it was easy for one person to load into the bed of the truck. I just purchased a 2 stage that tips the scales at almost 300 lbs so I've got to find a different way to load it. Sure, I guess two people could easily lift it into the bed of the truck but I'm not interested. lol

How about a set of loading ramps to drive the blower into the bed of my truck? I've never used them before, does it make a difference that my bed has a sprayed on liner?

How about a receiver mounted cargo carrier? I've seen some that have ramps you can drive up on.

Finally, how about a small utility trailer?

No matter what I choose I have to spend money on because I don't have anything. Another thing to consider is that I may look into mowing my parents lawn too this year. They've had a landscaper for years but they're both retired and on a fixed income so I'd be transporting my mower, trimmer and blower too.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Sounds like you need a small trailer with a gate that opens to form a ramp! That being said, while I have no particular experience with pickups, I have used the pull-out ramps on a commercial style Ford once for just this purpose and it worked OK.

·
Registered
24 Posts