Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to snow throwing and have limited experience with the use of carbureted engines since most of my power tools are electric, used during the summer, and my vehicles fuel injected ;)

I know how a carburetor works and the purpose of a choke. My curiosity is, for cold starts, I'd like to know your opinions on how you use your chokes. For example full choke vs. half choke vs. knowing when to fully turn the choke off based on indicators. Warm up times, etc.

Obviously if the engine won't start or is stalling, the choke approach needs to be adjusted (or it can be other factors). But when it's running and warming up, this is where I'm looking for opinions (especially knowing when to turn the choke off and start tossing some snow! :D)

Appreciate it. Thanks!

·
Registered
346 Posts
When I start my blower, I pull the choke all the way. I leave it choked for only a couple seconds then I take the choke off...if the idle is smooth then I just leave it, if it's hesitating then I'll pull the choke back out for another couple seconds.

As for when to start throwing snow, I leave the blower on idle for a minute to allow the oil to lubricate all the internals, then I'll ramp it up to higher a higher rpm and leave it for a few minutes to warm up...this is when I typically brush the snow off the truck and shovel the stairs. By this time, the blower will have reached operate temperature and is good to go.

·
Registered
1,371 Posts
As Slowrider said full choke to start but you should tell us if you have a primer which is a rubber push action and also you should tell if your choke has 2 or 3 positions namely Full, Mid, OFF.

After your response we will be able to give you a proper procedure to get it going but again as Slowrider mentioned also you have to let the engine get warmed up some, I usually engage the auger to help for the warm up.

Norm

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4