Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My chute discharge cable broke. I am not a mechanic and have learned to take pictures of items as I go along. Apparently I have not learned where i put them. I have a Gas powered 2 stage snowblower That is certified and imported thru Cdn Tire which will be the last one. The motor is PowerSmart. Does anyone know where I can find a more detailed drawing of how the cable should be routed up where the handle is to control the chute? Would be appreciated. Thank you

·
Registered
1,421 Posts
Searching your other posts, I think you have Model 060-0184-8 (would be helpful for you to add model info to new threads).

If so, your Operators Manual is here: https://www.canadiantire.ca/content/dam/canadian-tire/manuals/0600184_EN_FR.pdf - It is one of those horrible half-upside-down bilingual manuals, though.

Looking at the diagram on page 9/10, it looks like the chute deflector control uses a rigid rod, not a cable? Perhaps you actually have a different model number? What is the Part Number for the cable you're replacing? Maybe that will help locate useful instructions.

·
Registered
1,421 Posts
OK, more searching here: https://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/certified-212cc-2-stage-snowblower-24-in-0600184p.html
shows that this model has a chute discharge cable (manual picture is wrong) and the pictures on the site show how it should be routed up to the control panel. Read the reviews! Many people had that cable break. Some simply returned the blower to Canadian Tire for a refund.
It shows a 2-year service warranty through CT as well. I would sure want to return it, though!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Chute Cable machine is model #060-0184-8

Hello: it is a cable and not a rod as shown in the manual. I wish I could find the pictures. I have learned to take pictures of items so I know how to put it back together. Now I have to learn to not lose thank pictures

Thank you