Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got out my blower today and noticed there was no gas, (i don't drain it during summer) so i put gas in and tried to start it. The pull was stuck, but then came free, and started for 5 sec and stopped.. oil and gas come out of the exhaust! I puled the plug and gas is in the oil! So if i change the oil will it be fine??? I have always left gas in when i store it to keep seal and gaskets from drying up, I guess i would do that in the future! So I assume the gas leaked thru the card somewhere??? Is there a valve that let that happen, because never has happened to me before. The blower is 6 years old, looks brand new. I always used stable in the gas for storage. I am not a mechanic, but have a little mechanical ability in me.

Any help is appreciated!

Derek
Indiana

·
Registered
2,332 Posts
Unfortunately if your blower doesn't have a fuel shutoff valve, the float in the carb bowl can get stuck and all the fuel can end up in the crankcase. One of the things I love about Honda carbs is that they have a fuel valve right on the inlet, as well as a separate sediment bowl.

The first step is going be making certain that the carb float is not gummed up and that fuel is no longer freely passing through the carb. There are plenty of threads on here about carb cleaning, since it's pretty much the most common issue with OPE.

The next step is to drain and refill the oil (you can use whatever leftover oil you may have on hand) and then pull the engine over with the recoil starter without starting it a bunch of times over a period of an hour or so until the oil is well circulated. Then drain the oil again and refill it again with synthetic 5W30.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, I hope it works!!! I dont know much about ripping out a carb lol What does OPE mean??

·
Registered
547 Posts