Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just found this forum. Hopefully I can learn a few things.

I am a retired automotive engineer. Since retiring I have been fiddling around with small engines on outdoor equipment. Mostly old B&S 5HP (man they must have built a billion of them). I recently inherited a couple of S200s in addition to my CCR2450 (a wonderful machine) that I am trying to bring back to life (neither have been used for many years).

This sort of a son-to-father interest.

About 15+ years ago, there was a small store down the street that claimed to be the "Largest Toro Dealer in the World" (remember this was before Home Depot and Lowes were wide spread). The name of the place was H&R Hardware. H was Harold, the original owner and R was Ralph his son. They invented the marketing phrase "We guarantee snow !" (If the Metro Detroit area did not get an "average" snowfall, you could get your money back !) Ralph also used to advertise on the local UHF TV channel back in the early 60's during the Red Wings hockey games.

So when my son turned 15, he was looking for a part time job and got hired there. Mostly unloading trailers and stacking blower and mowers. This place was so small they rented several storage lockers (2 car garage size) and filled them with blowers every fall. They liked my football player son, because even though he was short he could stack the boxes 7' high without a ladder !

As the snow season would approach, they started assembling machine to fill the showroom doing hundreds of tune ups. By the time the first snow flew you could barely walk through the showroom or the back room. My son was then on the assembly team.