Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was just about to get started on replacing these belts on this snowblower and then discovered this forum. Was hoping to get some advice, tips or general cautions before I start to take it apart. Never worked on anything like this before so you can say I am a newbie for sure. Dont have a truck to get it to a Honda repair shop so I have no choice but to try it myself.

·
Registered
2,950 Posts
Take off the belt cover, and then there are 10 bolts (2 each top and bottom, and 3 on each side) that let you split the auger housing from the tractor. The auger belt has guides on the auger housing that must be loosened or removed to swap the belt. The drive belt can be swapped without having to split the machine. Use OEM belts because they're metric and using belts measured in OD inches is problematic.

You can look up the correct part numbers here with your full model and serial numbers: Honda Power Equipment - Parts Look Up - Official Site
Likely 22431-768-003 (SA-29) and 22432-V03-000 (SB-35)

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Take off the belt cover, and then there are 10 bolts (2 each top and bottom, and 3 on each side) that let you split the auger housing from the tractor. The auger belt has guides on the auger housing that must be loosened or removed to swap the belt. The drive belt can be swapped without having to split the machine.
Oh ok thanks... yes I had read in another post that I could split it into a V and get the new drive belt in without taking it all apart. Thats good to hear it can be done this way. The auger belt looks like it is still in decent shape so I will save the new belt until it goes or try to replace it in the summer. Just need to be able to throw some snow for the rest of the winter and get those tracks moving for now. Any suggestions on getting the new belt onto the pulleys easily?

·
Registered
2,017 Posts