Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
534 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. One of the major oil mfgrs now has 20,000 mi oil. How does that translate to snowblower use based on three or four storms a year, OK maybe ten. How many seasons do I get before an oil change?
Sid

·
Registered
1,431 Posts
I'm no expert on oil, but I don't think you can equate 20,000 oil for a car to a snowblower.

Small engines do not run as clean as automotive engines, so any oil in a snowblower would get dirty. Follow the snowblower manufacturers directions as to how long to go between oil changes, at LEAST as long as the warranty lasts. Then if you want to take a chance and see how long it takes to fry an engine, go for it.

·
Registered
534 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'll probably stick to my once a year schedule for my still running 52 yr old machine. I have been using synthetic oil on everything for 26 years.
Sid

·
Registered
63 Posts
OK, some quick math. If you are turning 2500 RPM we can call that 60MPH (for round numbers) maybe 40 hours a year that's 2400 miles a year. So every 10 years give or take.

Oil is cheap, change every year.

·
Retired Moderator
9,913 Posts
Oil rated for 20K in my opinion might finally be getting into the too good for a snowblower area. I'm not sure you can correlate small engine rpm to approximate MPH or miles equivalent. I'm pretty sure long before you reached that change interval you'd have milk chocolate from condensation from waiting a decade to rack up the hours (miles).

In any case IMHO I think someone with a snowblower would be better served with a good quality synthetic changed yearly. Even every two or three if it looks clean and doesn't show any signs of water from condensation starting to turn it milky.
My preferred choice is Mobil 1 0-40 from Walmart

·
Registered
902 Posts