Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I use a Toro Power Shovel to clear my 14'x20' deck. I've been using it for 4 years now and we got dumped on yesterday in NJ. I pulled the trigger it went for a second and that was that.

I realize there are a bunch of ways these things can fail, but I fixed mine. It turns out it was one of the brushes on the motor. It took me about 20 minutes to fix. I did a video in case other people have a similar issue.

Tools required:
5/8 Wrench (or socket)
5/16 Nut driver (or socket)
Phillips Screwdriver

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
MAZEL TOV on that 1.:wavetowel2:
Thanks :). I looked on youtube and didn't see any vids addressing this issue. Googling just brings a bunch of complaints"died after two years", or two days or two minutes. I admit I was ready to toss it if I couldn't get it going, but the fix was super easy.

·
Registered
397 Posts
I suppose everyone has a different problem.

My own on a 2005 Toro 1800 Power Curve was the On/Off "Switch" on the handlebar which was pretty flimsy in the original design.

I was supplied with a re-engineered replacement Switch and it's been continuing to clear the snow from a 700SF Deck for 13 Winters.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I suppose everyone has a different problem.

My own on a 2005 Toro 1800 Power Curve was the On/Off "Switch" on the handlebar which was pretty flimsy in the original design.

I was supplied with a re-engineered replacement Switch and it's been continuing to clear the snow from a 700SF Deck for 13 Winters.
The first thing I checked was the switch, I figured that would have been easy enough to fix as well. I know electronics enough to know that a motor should show some continuity, this was showing open. Once I eliminated the switch as the culprit, it had to be a wiring issue or most likely a stuck brush. Stuck brush for the win ;)

·
Registered
1 Posts