Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an late 70's Ariens 32" blower, it was working fine until a couple days ago when blowing a heavy pile of slushy snow, the impeller stopped spinning and began melting the belt and then shut off.

I have since taken off the snow-thro unit and first found that the engine sheave will not spin, inspecting the inside of the unit, the rakes are spinning normally and the shear pins in the rakes appear to fine but I can not spin the impeller fan in the back of the unit. Using a breaker bar through the chute and a hammer, I was able to whack one of the fan blades and move it an inch or two but that didn't loosen it up at all.

I have little experience with these things and I am learning as I am going through youtube videos etc. At this point I can't figure out what it could be outside of a problem in the gearbox unless I am missing something.

Thanks in advance.

Bill

·
Registered
81 Posts
The rakes should not spin at all unless the impeller is spinning. They are driven by a worm gear. The worm gear is driven by the impeller shaft.

You have a gearbox problem. Likely one of the gears is damaged/fractured.

The shear pins didn't break in time.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you, good to know, I'll stop racking my brain and trying to figure it out and bring it somewhere to be repaired.

It just so happens that I am looking out at 2' of snow right now and its still going, timing on this could not be any worse.

Carburetor needs a rebuild, it is pissing gas all over the place, I had intended to do that myself but i'll just have them take care of that while they are at it.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Just a heads up, it may be an expensive fix if it is the gearbox but, there are lots of parts out there.

The carb repair shouldn't be too bad.

What I'm saying is don't give up on the snowblower. They really don't build them like they used to.

·
Registered
18 Posts