Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, newbie here from Boston area- I have an ancient Ariens 6hp, see attachments- today in the wet snow I think I broke the impeller roll pin, as the auger turns fine, but the impeller no longer turns with it, but spins freely by hand. Does anyone know the proper step to replacing this roll pin? It does not seem simple like the auger shear bolts. Thanks in advance to all replies :)

Attachments

·
Retired Moderator
4,160 Posts
Most likely have to remove the bucket from the body, remove the pulley coupler thing from the back of the shaft, remove the bushing holders from the sides of the bucket then pull the whole assembly out of the bucket. While you have it apart probably would not hurt to replace the bearing on the back of the bucket and the 2 bronze bushings on the sides of the rakes.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It's definitely a roll pin, I found a broken one in the impeller hole when cleaning the melting snow out of it - this repair cannot be done without removing the auger/impeller assembly?

·
Retired Moderator
3,149 Posts
Should be able to pick them up at a hardware store. I'd check with a retailer that carries Ariens too. Probably a better bet to make sure you get the right size specific to your machine.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
THX - so the chute is removed, I see no reason why I can't do this job without pulling the assembly out? :confused:

·
Retired Moderator
4,160 Posts
It could probably be done, but as long as you can get the pulley/coupler off the impeller shaft it would probably be easier to just remove it.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #13