Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a used Ariens 24" that is from 2014 and noticed a lot of rust on the drive shafts and gears and was wondering if this is considered normal or did something bad happen to this unit? Given that it was only 2 years old I didn't expect there to really be any rust. The main paint on the unit looked fine but all the gearing, drive shafts and random metal pieces like the auger cap looked really rusted to me. Any opinions on this?

Wheel Axel:

Auger Rod:

Drive Belt:

Auger Cap:

Gear:

·
Registered
595 Posts
This comment is not specific to Ariens equipment...

I'm not an expert on New Jersey climate, but I do know that some painted or chrome surfaces are very thin and in a humid environment those surfaces can develop surface rust rather quickly. Perhaps the prior owner stored it outside.
Here in Colorado, it's very dry and I have a mower that's been stored outside (on a patio) for 20+ years and still has no surface rust anywhere on it.

I bought a tractor from a dealer in PA a couple years ago and every chrome and unpainted surface had surface rust on it. It was stored under a covered enclosure, but the moist air still did a number on those unprotected surfaces.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hhmm yeah. I wonder if this is considered bad? I'm trying to figure out if this is "ok" or did I just buy some rusted out piece of junk that's going to be in the trash soon. haha

·
Account closed by member request.
9,612 Posts
Your pics never showed up here. anyhoo ALOHA from the paradise city.:smiley-rpg027::smiley-rpg027::smiley-rpg027::smiley-rpg027::smiley-rpg027:

·
Registered
485 Posts
maybe they use a lot of salt where this snowblower was from and the owner never hosed it off. it is a problem where I live.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6