Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Im new to owning a snow blower.A buddy owed me a hundred spot so he gave me the 524.It is an 80s model.It needs a drive disc.I am only coming across a drive disc for a 524D. Is there a difference between the 524 and 524D.I don't want to sound like a newby,what is the difference between single stage and duel stage.It also has wire for the auger control and drive control.Dealer says the were obsolete.The wires are tied to the handle connecting to the turn buckle.Thank you for the help.

·
Premium Member
3,860 Posts
Welcome to the forum! :)

Any chance you can post a photo of it?

Its actually not technically a "model 524"..
524 simply means "5hp engine with a 24-inch wide bucket"
524 is a *very* generic term that can apply to literally dozens of different JD models over many years.

you need to look for a tag at the rear of the machine..like this:

see that John Deere "data tag" on the rear?
thats what you need to look for..that should contain the *actual* model and serial numbers..which will make searching for parts much easier! ;)

"single stage" means it has only augers in the front, that spins really fast and spit all the snow out the shoot by themselves, they most often look like this:
http://www.bsppwebtools.com/data/product_series/Snp_SS822E_022_path.jpg

"Dual stage" (or 2 stage) means it also has the main augers, but it also has a second feature, an impeller behind the main augers..the augers turn slowly, and feed the snow the the impeller..the impeller spins much faster and actually does the work of spitting the snow out the chute..in this photo:

you can see the large spiral "augers" that take up the whole bucket..
then behind those is the smaller "impeller"..it looks like a 4-bladed fan..
the augers + the impeller = the two "stages" of a dual stage machine..

let us know if you can find that model number!

Scot

·
Registered
6 Posts
THe JD 524 is different that 524D