·
Registered
947 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ok that’s great to know, thank you.

I’ve never had a Lawn Boy but always considered them to be top of the heap. Especially a commercial machine. But it didn’t look special.

I have a Honda Harmony 215 that seems to run just fine so I wasn’t sure if this was an upgrade or not.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I do have a curved retaining wall on that side but ... the weed wacker gets that pretty easy.

The Honda starts on second pull (never first), and the bracket at the top of the handle is pointy and fits perfectly between my ribs if I’m not paying attention. Otherwise I have no issues with it.

I’ll probably pass on this Lawn Boy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,866 Posts
I'm no expert in them, but IMO, one cool aspect of the Lawn Boys was the lightweight 2-stroke, and aluminum or magnesium deck, whichever it was (I think magnesium). I had a 20" (I think) 2-stroke LB, it seemed to weigh just about nothing vs our self-propelled 21" Craftsman. It rolled awfully easily.

Unfortunately, I got rid of it, and only later realized that I think the carb was running too rich, and it was probably spinning too slowly. I didn't have a tach at the time. When I'd get it into really heavy stuff, and it would open the throttle, the 2-stroke smoke would visibly come "billowing" out from under the deck :)

I will say that the Craftsman mulches better, at least, since it has a mulching plug. But it feels like a pig, by comparison, when mowing.

A 4-stroke, steel-deck Lawn Boy feels like it might give up some of the ease-of-handling advantages of the older machines? If you could find one set up for mulching, that would be nice, in terms of giving you more options.

·
Registered
1,518 Posts