Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
871 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
im looking at this toro 824, does any1 know model year and if its a good year to buy. i have a 4car asphalt double driveway w/sidewalk
what problem areas should i be looking at, fyi im a shade tree mechanic and live 30min north of toronto
their asking $300 canadian pesos

https://www.kijiji.ca/v-snowblower/m...wer/1234049508

·
Registered
842 Posts
i'm a toro lover ,but $300.00 CA $'s would make me pass price wise on a machine that looks like a late 70's early 80's model, maybe 93 ps will have a better idea of when toro stopped painting the engines red like the rest of the machine.

·
Registered
2,320 Posts
I'm not familiar with Toros but I do agree with 87 powershift, this machine does look like a late 70s or early 80s model. Being in the states, $300 for this machine, way too much money because of the age. $250 in the states would be the max for this machine and I probably like to get it for $200 or $150. Even for $150 you don't know how much work this machine needs. It could use easily $50 to $200 worth of parts not including the labor.

·
Premium Member
1,080 Posts
Might be late 1980's at the newest. price seems a bit high, but not sure how it compares to the Canadian market.

It would be quite a capable machine.

·
Registered
871 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
the canadian market sux big, new snow machines retail almost or over 30% higher then states, plus tax 13%.
people are posting prices based on new and toro has a good rep up here in canada. the most i would pay is 200-220, 180 would be nice but dont think he will take it but i need to rent a truck for about 2 hrs for delivery

·
Banned
2,029 Posts