Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

I'm about a week into ownership of a 1969 Ariens 10962 with 10995 snow-thro attachment. It was my grandfather's, and was in my cousin's possession for the past 12 years or so. I received it after the last snowfall this year, but I can't wait until next year!

Before reading on, please know that I have NO experience with any sort of maintenance -- engine or otherwise -- for anything like this. I can change a tire on my car, and that's about it. So bear with me, please.

1. I noticed that the left tire was almost flat, so I filled it with air -- and it looks like there's a leak from the valve stem. It seems that the tube I need is Ariens p/n 71050, which Jack's Small Engines has for $25. Is this what I should get, or would I be able to get a "generic" version of this tube for less money?

2. I know this is a silly question, but I've seen youtube videos where people flip their snowblowers upright to work on the bottom or tires, etc. But my scoop is teardrop-shaped, not flat, so I can't flip it upright, correct? How do people work on it?

I'm sure I'll have lots more newbie/naive questions... thanks in advance.

Doug

·
Registered
146 Posts
Hi Doug

1. Likely just need to tighten or replace the valve if it's actually leaking from the valve itself. Is it actually a tube or is it tubeless?

2. You could use blocks for support to keep it from rolling back or ahead if you need to tip it up.

Reactions: dmel

·
Super Moderator
3,859 Posts
Hi Doug,
welcome to the forum!

1. You should be able to find a cheap replacement tube..
write down the tire size from the side of the tire, then go to Tractor supply, (or maybe even Home Depot or Lowes) and you can probably find a tube for that size tire..
I bought a tube for my 1970's era dump cart at Tractor Supply last summer.

Its resting on the chute..
angle the chute so that its facing forward, then tip the whole thing up..