Snowblower Forum banner

New member, Eaton Viking 21" 5HP snowblower troubleshooting help needed.

9K views 23 replies 16 participants last post by  Suburban Guy 
#1 · (Edited)
I have a snowblower very similar to the attached photo, however mine has a different engine. I can take a photo of my actual machine later on, when I am at home.

Last winter, the roller chain which drives the blade snapped, and I put the snowblower away. This year, I found the correct size of chain at princess auto, and replaced it. There is a new problem, though. When I engage the engine clutch, nothing happens - the snowblower will not move when I put it into gear, and the auger will also not move.

I have never worked on a snowblower before, and I do not have a manual for this machine. I would very much appreciate if someone could share the following info:

1. Any ideas who made this machine, how old it is, and where to find a service manual?

2. Most likely cause of clutch not working? Is there a cover I can remove, to inspect the transmission?

The engine runs fine. Look forward to getting this beast going again.

See less See more
#7 ·
Welcome from BC grew up in Edmonton. I am thinking your blower was sold at Eaton's Dept stores as Viking, name rings a bell in my pea brain. I know they sold oil with their name on as I have 5 quarts of Eaton's bulldog motor oil.

#11 · (Edited)
Yes, they sent me a manual for an Ariens machine which is clearly much newer than the Viking machine, with a cover page showing a photo of the Viking machine. The sender's email address bounces, so I filed a paypal "not as described" claim, which was denied on the basis that they sent me a manual. I bought it thinking I was protected by Paypal, but Paypal only protects goods, and not services.