Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Just picked up the Ariens in my Sig. I am new to snowblowers. I did a little searching but have a few questions. I am not sure what engine I have? I could not find any info about it on the engine.there is one tag that says to use 5w30 in the winter. how much oil does it take? I was going to use FS? The belts are worn. anyone know the part # for the belts or the best place to get them?....TIA

·
Banned
1,585 Posts
You should have 2 tiny yellow plugs on either side of the block. Likely have a big fill tube between the engine and chute. Most have a check oil bar secured to the cap. If you don't, you can pour oil into the engine with one of the cheapo yellow caps removed and wait for it to be near the threads. Then your full up. 5w-30w for cold weather.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
OK. I could not figure out how to edit my post above to add pictures so here are a few.

·
Registered
394 Posts
Send a picture if possible to help us identify the engine for you. I would guess it was Tecumseh however. Look for the model number on the top of the engine. If your engine has electric start the plug may be covering it. The ariens model number should be on the transmission somewhere. You can use that number to look up a Manuel for free from ariens and have it printed. (thats if its available) but it seems they have most available online.

·
Registered
394 Posts
Just saw the pictures you posted a min before!

Its a tecumseh for sure.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
You should have 2 tiny yellow plugs on either side of the block. Likely have a big fill tube between the engine and chute. Most have a check oil bar secured to the cap. If you don't, you can pour oil into the engine with one of the cheapo yellow caps removed and wait for it to be near the threads. Then your full up. 5w-30w for cold weather.