Snowblower Forum banner

Old noma single stage snow blower question

3K views 17 replies 4 participants last post by  rfuschjr@rcn.com 
#1 ·
I took this out of pops shed. I believe he purchased it circa 1996 from Home Depot. It has not been run since at least 2004 or so when he got a small Toro single stage snow thrower.

Pop's gone now and we are cleaning out of his shed. I found this and I decided to bring it back to my place. FYI I am no mechanic... I tinker I ask questions at 4 forums and if I could save something I will.

I could not find any information on this snowthrower or its engine. The best I could do was to take the cowel and plastic off to expose the carb and try to clean the carb. Boy what a pita it was getting not only the cowl off with all the hidden nuts and bolts ... in precarious spots..but the carb with its hex screws etc etc

I cleaned the carb, it was all gummed up. With everything exposed I pulled the rope twice and it started! I immediately shut it down. I put everything back together plastic cowl etc.

Pulled the string it started right up but suddenly started revving higher and higher and higher... Kind of like if you sat in your car with it in park and press down on the accelerator as far as it would go. It sounded like the sucker was going to blow itself apart so I shut it off.

I took her apart again... sigh. I looked carefully at the pictures I had taken...looked ok to me. A connecting rod that seemed to connect the carb to the throttle(? ) looked upside down so I flipped it and put it back together.

At this point it had been sitting for a couple weeks but it started right up... after a few seconds it was again revving higher and higher... like it was going to blow itself to smithereens.

I have no way of knowing if there was an issue with this and that's why pop got the Toro. My guess is it got gumed up and being old he just decided to get something new.