Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just joined the forum and have a coworker that gave me an old 1983 Dynamark X12 26" 8hp snow thrower that i want to get up and running before it snows again here in central ohio

This is what he told me that it would run but he had to run it rich to keep it running and then it got to the point where it would not run.

He could get it to run if he sprayed starting fluid in it but only for few seconds so he tried to rebuild carb with no luck so he bought a new carb that is on it now and he still cant get it to run gave it to me. he said it has spark and will fire up with starting fluid with the new carb but won't run with out it. has old gas in it with stabli in it.

First off I am an industrial maintenance manager been doing maintenance on big stuff all my life and working on my harleys so i know my way around tool box.

So my thoughts are this.
1. Drain all the gas clean it out replace with fresh gas
2. Clean the bowl and jets and needle valves
3. Put in new spark plug
4. fire it up see what happens.

Question anything on these machines that i may have missed in my initial thoughts.

·
Banned
2,029 Posts
thats the same way i would do it. i would recommend splurging on an ngk br2lm, it sparks hotter, lasts longer, and will make the engine easier to start and run better

·
Registered
1,020 Posts
Does it have a fuel shutoff valve?
It helps to have that open. (you would be surprised at some folks lack of knowledge):p

A kink in the fuel line or a collapsed line?
Is there a fuel filter on it?

I would just try new gas first and see what happens then go from there?

·
Registered
1,740 Posts
Just joined the forum and have a coworker that gave me an old 1983 Dynamark X12 26" 8hp snow thrower that i want to get up and running before it snows again here in central ohio