Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There is a Powershift 1132 for sale near me. Pictures look in good condition, but the seller said "needs carb work, leaks gas". I know that isn't much to go by, but is that a sign of bigger problems? I recently cut my teeth rebuilding the carb on my 1971 Simplicity rototiller, so I have some (but VERY little) experience rebuilding carbs.

My other fear is the added complexity of a gear driven transmission (as opposed to friction wheel). Is there a "lifespan" on the peerless that I should consider? For instance, are they only good for 400 hours then need rebuilds?

·
Registered
816 Posts
Personally I would have no issues grabbing a machine with gas leak / carb issues. I don't have near the experience that some of the folks on this forum do, but I have cleaned and rebuilt a couple dozen OPE carbs. It is straightforward work. I'll leave comments about the transmission to the experts here.

·
Account closed by member request.
9,612 Posts
There is a Powershift 1132 for sale near me. Pictures look in good condition, but the seller said "needs carb work, leaks gas". I know that isn't much to go by, but is that a sign of bigger problems? I recently cut my teeth rebuilding the carb on my 1971 Simplicity rototiller, so I have some (but VERY little) experience rebuilding carbs.

My other fear is the added complexity of a gear driven transmission (as opposed to friction wheel). Is there a "lifespan" on the peerless that I should consider? For instance, are they only good for 400 hours then need rebuilds?
If you should get it I will help with all your questions and other things that may arise.:eek:k::eek:k::eek:k::eek:k::eek:k:

·
Registered
2,040 Posts