Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have an 824 that was tossing belts under load and finally got around try to fix her. Started it up and saw a lot of play around the impeller shaft, so I split the blower and replaced the spherical flange bearing, which was in tatters, and the new bearing removed all up/down/side play on the shaft.

As I am putting things back together, specifically the big pulley on the impeller shaft, I notice that as I spin the impeller, the shaft will extend or retract about 1" fore/aft. This is not freeplay, and only happens as the impeller is spun and is consistent in action , so my thought is that it's supposed to be there, but I'm looking for confirmation before I button her up. The manual doesn't address this, but does caution "do not preload bearing". Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance...

·
Account closed by member request.
9,612 Posts
Since you are a newbie here and can not post pics or vids yet. which I think is BLOODY STUPID. pm me for my e-mail if you should feel the need. anyhoo ALOHA from the paradise city.:smiley-rpg027::smiley-rpg027::smiley-rpg027::smiley-rpg027::smiley-rpg027::smiley-rpg027:

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Finally got around to opening up the gearbox and it looks like a retaining clip is gone (and likely ground to tiny bits) which allows the impeller shaft to slide out on the gears.

·
Registered
2,443 Posts
surprised there is no gasket, but a thin bead of permatex or similiar should seal it up. i have been using JD corn head grease on some of my stuff lately, cant comment on long term effectiveness , but no complaints about the semi liquid stuff so far.

·
Premium Member
496 Posts
Any ideas as to what to use as gearbox lube/grease and how much?