Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
~1980 Ariens 924050
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!

Last summer, I was given my very first snowblower : ~1980 Ariens 924050, 24 inches with an 8 hp tecumseh engine.

It was not in perfect shape, but after changing some parts (oil, spark plug, belts, grease and carburator gaskets), it runs pretty well for a 40 years old machine. I am not an expert of small engine machines, but I was told Ariens from these times are very good.

My question is about the "smoothness" when starting the machine. Last winter I tried my neighbor's snowblower (also an ariens from the 80's, 32 in with 10 hp). When I pulled the cord to start it, it felt completely different : no effort what so ever, even below 0°F. It started after two pulls. Mine is not hard to start, it just not as easy as my neighbor's. It feels "rougher".

I would like to have your insight about this, what may correct this. Different oil? Changing the engine bearings or seals? Piston rings?

Thank you for your knowledge!
Tristan

·
Registered
3,180 Posts
Just to mention that all my units.... , summer, winter, new, old, .... all get 5W30 Full Synthetic oil.

Recoil, oil, condition of engine itself, etc., etc.... Too many variables to pinpoint what the "rougher" feeling could be without maybe an on-hands inspection.

·
Premium Member
7,129 Posts
rougher on the pull? the spring may need some lubricating on the recoil.

"It feels rougher" ......need to be more specific.

like. what kind of weight oil do you use?
have you done compression check?
has it been tuned?
has the valve adjustment been checked?

there are a slew of questions here.

·
Registered
~1980 Ariens 924050
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for your answers. I'll try to precise the issue.