Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,811 Posts

·
Registered
1,693 Posts
Yes, you can get split rims, and install a tube if you want to go that route.

What ever you decide, I would recommend the XTrac for the tires.

·
Registered
1,811 Posts
I purchased xtrak tires for mine but I do have a tire changer so wasn’t a big issue swapping them on the stock rims

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks guys. I'm new to this and trying to understand. My current tire says 4.10-6 on it. What does this mean exactly and what are my options to replace them? I'm thinking the tubed tires would not experience the air loss issues? Is may thinking correct?

·
Super Moderator
9,891 Posts
Of the 4.10-6 the six is the rim diameter. The 4.10 is the ratio of sidewall to tread I think. If you have tubeless you can also get a bottle of "Slime" and put some in each tire and then take the machine out for a walk for the stuff to spin around and coat the inside of the tire and rim. Want to do it before it gets so cold the stuff won't flow. I had some pretty sorry looking tires with sidewall cracks that leaked down almost weekly before adding the Slime to them. I can't remember if it gave me a year or two before I needed to replace the tires. I used that rider for a lot of grass cutting, wood & compost hauling, gravel for driveway, ... I'm on 5 acres so it gets used a lot. I love the stuff.
You don't need split rims to do tubed tires but it is much easier to install the tube on a split rim than stuff it into a tubeless rim and then try to slip the tire onto the rim over the tube without pinching it. (IMHO)

https://shop.slime.com/collections/prevent-and-repair-tire-sealant

Snow Hogs are good too - - > https://www.amazon.com/Carlisle-Snow-Hog-Bias-Tire/dp/B001THKFJO
Couldn't find a 4.10-6 X-Trac, might need to contact them. https://www.carlisletirestore.com/store/xtrac.html
Shop around for price.

·
Registered
1,693 Posts