Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I fixed a broken string at the end on a Craftsman 5.5hp snowblower. I removed the cover, restrung the recoil mechanism and hooked it back up to the Snowblower. When I went to pull the string, there was no tension to make the string recoil. I took it off and hand wound the mechanism till I thought I had enough tension to make the string recoil. My question is there a certain amount of tension to put on the recoil mechanism? I gave it a few turns till I got some tension but didn't wind it too tight. The string broke again so when I replace the old string I want to make sure this time I rewind it with the proper tension. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
3,857 Posts
I'm no expert, but I've rewound one or two starters. They've worked OK afterwards. If I was doing one now, this is how I'd set it:

- ensure there is still some spring tension when the cord is retracted fully. Enough to pull it in until the handle hits the recoil housing.
- ensure that, with the cord pulled out fully, the coil spring isn't fully tight. In other words, you want to run out of cord length before you wind up the spring fully.

I know, this isn't terribly "deep" advice. But it seems to me that if you meet both of these criteria, you should be OK.

·
Registered
1,431 Posts