Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Amazon has a lot of reviews of Cub Cadets and many complain that they have broken many many shear pins, like it's a constant problem. Consumer reports rates Cub a little higher than Ariens but I want to choose the best one for complete ease of use and dependable durability (hope that's not asking too much). I'm looking at either the 26" or 28" 3x Cub vs the 28" platinum Ariens....

Also that Ariens does not have hand warmers, any problems or loss of quality with installing them?

Comments, experience, advice appreciated.

·
Registered
485 Posts
Welcome Aboard!

First off let me say I have no experience with Cub Cadet.
Secondly I can't remember the last time I broke a shear pin! My experience with owners telling me they broke shear pins has almost always been operator error. That is not to say Cub Cadet didn't have a run of less than adequate shear pins.
As to what snowblower is right for you I can only say two words, Toro and Ariens. Both brands offer many different machines and have an extensive dealer network that should make it easy to find people you can develop a rapport with. Before you visit write down a few requirements and information you need. How long is your driveway, other areas you want to clean, how steep is it, do you need tracks or wheels, hand warmers, an operator enclosure, etc.
Also while many on this site disregard the website "MovingSnow.com" as just being a sales website a few of us have found it useful.
If you're like me and want "something different" and don't care about the dealer network being thin in your area you go for a Husqvarna. The last couple of years they have made tremendous strides in quality and reliability but they're still not for everyone.
And lastly while you're shopping even if you don't want to spend mega $$$ you owe it to yourself to pay a visit to a Honda dealer and see how the other half lives! Awesome snowblowers!