Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, new member posting first question.

Had the blower since new - going on ten years and noticed the throwing is getting worse every year. I change the oil each few years as well as the spark plug and drain out the gas and run it dry every season. No matter whether new snow or end of season wet snow it struggles and clogs up. I've tried WD40 and spraying cooking oil on the chute.

When there's no snow the impeller is spinning really good and actually good breeze coming out of the chute but the minute a load gets in there it slows and clogs eventually. Tried to spin the augers and they're tight so shearing pins are good? Can actually rotate the impeller and it's tight - don't know if that's good or bad.

Took the belt cover off and inspected both belts and the tension and (I'm not a mechanic or repair tech) they seem to be in pretty good shape - no obvious cracks. Started the thrower (is it a blower or a thrower:smile2:)and the belts seem to be on track - not floating all over the tensioner/idle pulleys.

What else to try/can I do to get it working like it used to - the sucker used to throw snow like 20' away!

Thanks for the help and advice.

ray

·
Registered
2,313 Posts
Replace the carb with a new adjustable one, could be lacking power.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Could be a few things. Is engine bogging down like it's having trouble? If not I would look & make sure all shear pins and impeller bolts are intact. Belts maybe be glazed or stretched. Being 10 yrs old might not hurt to throw belts at it anyways. Is impeller and housing showing lots of wear? Might look into impeller kit.

·
Super Moderator
6,669 Posts
how old are those belts? they may look good but still be worn

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6