Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just completed replacing the connecting rod in my H60 motor. It's my first time opening a motor....you might call me a youtube mechanic. As far as I can tell, everything went back together correctly. No parts left over. I lined up the timing marks, etc. In the youtube video, the guy removed the crankshaft and removed the piston from the bottom. His reasoning was to save replacing a head gasket if he went in from the top. I hammered a bit on the flywheel before coming to the conclusion that replacing a three dollar gasket was going to be a lot easier than fighting with the flywheel.

So the motor is back on the snowblower, and I just tried to fire it up. It won't start, and the problem appears to be lack of spark. I tested this by removing the plug and holding it against the engine block while engaging the electric start. So now I'm wondering if I reassembled something incorrectly, or possibly damaged something while hammering on the flywheel. Or maybe the old plug wire didn't like being jostled around on the bench.

I'd appreciate any advice on how to proceed/troubleshoot this....hopefully starting with the least invasive.

·
Premium Member
5,202 Posts
Did you gap the points correctly? Magnets ok inside the flywheel? Do you maybe have the kill switch improperly wired? Do you have the key in the slot? Start with the simplest thing and go from there. That wojld be working backwards from what I just posted.

·
Registered
2,227 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum Tommy. Did you by chance remove the ignition coil? If you did, did you use a business card to set the air gap between the coil and the flywheel magnets? Also make sure the throttle is in the run position and you are using a KNOWN GOOD spark plug.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4