Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Working on a Toro 724 like the one in the pic. It runs fine at WOT but over-revs when putting the throttle lever in the idle position. Can anyone tell me if the linkage to the carb is correct? Thanks.

·
Registered
2,248 Posts
Took this pic from the same model....there should be a idle adjusting screw on the carb that will allow the throttle butterfly to close more to get the desired idle speed.

·
Banned
943 Posts
Stating the obvious.. you guys are using different holes on the bottom linkage.
I'd be interested to hear if switching that hole makes such a big difference.
I'm still learning about snowblowers and governors and such.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the replies. I moved the lower-left rod up to the next hole
and it is still doing it.

Jackmels: can you confirm that the upper linkage goes to the carb
as shown in my picture? I've only seen them go from the carb to the governor. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,248 Posts
Top linkage goes to carb. Did you adjust the idle screw on the carb to close down the throttle? Does the Governor kick in at WOT?

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Top linkage goes to carb. Did you adjust the idle screw on the carb to close down the throttle? Does the Governor kick in at WOT?
The idle screw was set to just open the throttle. I don't think the
governor is working properly. Got it to idle-down without runaway
RPMs but couldn't adjust the engine speed high enough. I tried to
adjust the governor but it didn't make any difference.

·
Registered
2,248 Posts
Governor is probably toast. It is a plastic gear assembly bolted inside the rear crankcase cover. Here's a photo of what it looks like. Not a hard repair, but you'll most likely need a case gasket as well as the governor.

·
Registered
709 Posts