·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having a tough time deciding between the:

• Ariens 30 Deluxe
  • Ariens 30 Platinum
  • Toro 1028OXE
I don't have a huge driveway but I am on the outside of a curve and get HAMMERED by the plow. It's not uncommon to get a 30+" berm at the end of my driveway. And being from southern WI it's rarely the light fluffy stuff. The catch here is that I am a pilot so sometimes I am on the road when we get pounded (Murphy's Law). This means that my wife (5' 105") wife needs to be able to maneuver the beast. She doesn't need to do a ton of turning. She will mostly be going down the drive and reversing back. Throwing distance is also important to me.

Here are my likes and dislikes:

• Ariens 30 Deluxe - I like: crank chute and price.
  • Ariens 30 Platinum - I like: 342cc engine - Torn on the ATC and chute control
  • Toro 1028OXE - I like: Chute/deflector stick, how light and maneuverable it is, the power triggers, 305 cc in a 28" unit. I dislike: Some of the components feel flimsy. Especially the triggers and Powerstick.
I am leaning towards the Platinum but no one, even at the dealers, can really explain the ATC to me. When the drive isn't engaged and you pop open the diff do both wheels rotate freely? If not is it the inner or outer wheel? If the drive IS engaged will the ATC help or fight you if you are trying to do a 180 turn? I have read conflicting reports on this.

What do you guys think??

·
Retired Moderator
3,149 Posts
Tough one to call, but for the sake of marital concerns, might consider taking the spouse along to look at them if she's going to be using it when you're not there.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I am looking at the same situation. I have narrowed to the two Ariens models. Have read way too many reviews. Pretty much all are raves. Family thinks I am odd?