Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a Toro CCR 3650 that is 7 years old. It has been flawless up until now.

The machine runs fine and throws snow a decent distance for a single stage machine.

Recently a hiss noise is developing. When you shut the machine off you can hear the hiss noise happen as the machine is winding down. It is not a constant hiss, but it goes hiss, hiss, hiss at a very rapid rate in conjunction with engine speed. When the machine is on you can't hear it.

When the machine is off, and you pull the starter rope just to turn the machine over without starting it, you can hear the hiss. As the pressure on the pull cord increases, so does the hissing noise. I am not a mechanic but enjoy tinkering. Is this a compression issue? What would the fix be? Thank you for your time.

·
Registered
1,118 Posts
quick guess would be head gasket/loose headbolt/loose sparkplug

pull off engine covers/shrouds and spray on or brush on a soap and water mix. pull starter cord and see if you have bubbles

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Found at least one source of the leak. As you suspected the head gasket is releasing air. I haven't removed the head yet but after I sprayed it with the solution it wasn't even bubbling, but rather spraying the liquid out.

I just bought a new head gasket, along with a new exhaust gasket, and some other parts.

My winterization procedure consisted of running the machine dry. I think the gasket probably blew due to a lack of moisture in there. I will be fogging it in the future.

I will post back with what I find after tearing down the engine. I am saying my prayers.....

td5711, thank you for your guidance. I wouldn't have even tried the soap bubble technique without your suggestion.

·
Registered
1,118 Posts