Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here.... picked up two used machines and am 0 for 2 on being good runners. Already have a thread going on the Murray/Brute Snowking, which seems to have carb issues, along with friction disk issues..... thinking this one might need a carb clean as well....

So, it starts pretty quick with the choke wide open, when cold, and messing with the controls, you can get him running full tilt.... but, when you back off the choke, it dies very quickly. At first, it will throw snow with the best of 'em for about 25 feet or so, choke full closed. As it gets hotter, and you'd expect it to be able to open the choke up, you can't... it will die. Then, it will predicable start to bog down under load, and eventually die.

So.... is this a carb issue as well? Is a cleaning the first thing to do?

And... if so, where can I get a good tutorial on it, and buy any parts that are needed? Thanks!
Mike

·
Registered
49 Posts
"only runs with choke wide open" (your description) sounds about normal to me.
You CLOSE the choke to help starting with a cold engine. once running you gradually open the choke as the warming-up engine will take it.

·
Registered
1,239 Posts
YEP - clean her up and then see what you have. The choke makes it rich - so if you can't open it up - than means it's already getting enough air/fuel mix at the point it's "adjusted" to. So you have either excess air getting in, bad mixture screw adjustment, or crappy fuel/dirty jets/passages

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for the replies! I'd like to try cleaning the carb before replacing it, but I'm having trouble finding and buying the exact parts I should replace when I take the carb apart.