Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie and need troubleshooting help. While using 521 today I hit some dirt and rocks, heard what I thought at the time might be a shear pin snapping as blower stopped blowing. After melting all snow and ice out of blower, I cannot manually turn either the auger or the impeller. If it was a shear pin wouldn’t one or both of the auger blades spin easily? The shear pins both appear to be in place. The auger blades just rotate by hand a little bit in each direction. The impeller does not move at all. Am I in big trouble?

·
Registered
259 Posts
Check belts as you may have detonated a belt and it wrapped around things that a belt is not supposed to be around. As well it could have just jumped off and is binding between pulleys and housing or other things. Also check for rocks and dirt between the back of the impeller and the back of the blower housing. I have seen them wedge in there under load and lock it up tight.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Sounds like shear pin(s) to me...…

I've blown a few in my days and they always act like you describe.... The bolt, when sheered, "smears" it self when breaking. They do not snap clean at a 90* angle.

That "smear" makes it hard to turn. Just drive one out..you'll see.

Good luck man.

John

·
Registered
3,862 Posts
Welcome to the forum! It sounds like something (rock, etc) jammed in the impeller to me. Especially since you said the augers will wiggle a little, but the impeller won't move at all. If you'd just broken & smeared the shear pins, that wouldn't do anything to the augers.

I'd grab a flashlight and take a close look around the impeller. Something stuck between the blades and the housing is your best-case scenario. Something stuck "behind" the solid part of the impeller would be worse.