Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, I originally posted asking about a Toro I saw on Craigslist, but they were asking too much and not willing to come down. I'm brand new to New England (Outside of Boston), though I've been in the snow before, this is the year I'm going to get away from shoveling.

My driveway is asphalt, roughly 30'x70' with no incline on it.

Here's a few I'm looking at. I think I'd prefer electric start just so it's one less thing to deal with, and my budget is about $300.

Any idea on what to look for in that range? Here's a few that have piqued my interest:

Ariens Snowblower 5/24 (5hp,24" Ariens)
6/24 ariens snowblower (6hp, 24" Ariens)
@@MTD SNOWBLOWER, 5HP, ELECT START, 6SPD, FREE DELIV @@ (5hp, 24" MTD)

Any suggestions?

·
Super Moderator
3,860 Posts
Both Ariens look fine..I would avoid the MTD..
(I would avoid *any* MTD)

The two Ariens are 10,000 series.

This one: 6/24 ariens snowblower
Is late 60's.

This one:
Ariens Snowblower 5/24
Is early 70's..

Of the two, I would prefer the early 70's one..slightly more modern engine, and looks in slightly better shape,
although its hard to tell just from photos..realistically they are essentially the same, no major differences..
both look fine! assuming everything works properly..and prices on both are decent.

Scot

·
Registered
1,371 Posts
Scotsman I agree to avoid the MTD but if it was built in early 90s they were of good quality, I had one a 13HP 36" and it performed very nicely in fact it is still working for the guy I sold it to. The Tecumseh starts on first pull everytime.

Take care all

·
Registered
279 Posts