Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
341 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been refurbishing and selling Ariens 2-stage snow blowers for a few years as a hobby. As a general rule, I really like Ariens snow blowers and think they offer excellent quality and value. They aren't quite up to Honda's quality but are significantly better than most of their competitors (MTD, Briggs' Simplicity, etc.). However, all companies make a lemon from time to time. Here are few Ariens models I'd avoid buying on the used market unless you can verify these issues have been corrected.

Ariens 939 Series
Sno-Tek 22R and 20R (939400 and 939401 series).
This was the absolute low-end of Ariens' line: fixed RPM engine throttle, no electric starter and a single forward speed. There is no reverse capability. Worse yet, there is no friction disc and the entire traction system is a non-serviceable plastic encasement. In other words, if the traction belt is good and the drive system fails there is no practical or economical repair. I am not aware of a retrofit or upgrade kit. You'll find these models for less than $300 on the used market but you'd be MUCH better off with a good Toro or Honda single stage machine.

Ariens 932 Series
Ariens 932040 (ST 5520E), 932041 (ST 7524E), 932042 (ST 624E), 932140 (HD ST 5520), 932141 (HD ST7524E), 932509 (ST7524) and 932510 (ST5520).