Snowblower Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Guys... Newbie here. I have a 9 year old Yardworks (sold at Canadian Tire) 10.5 HP blower with Tecumseh engine. We had our first, wet, snowfall of the year overnight. About 5 to 6 inches. Blower started up on the second pull. Started clearing my driveway and when I tried to clear the ramp to my shed I must have run the shave plate under the edge of the ramp. The blower stopped it's forward movement. No noise or other indication of any problem. When I tried to continue I noticed I wasn't blowing snow, just pushing it.
The augers weren't turning. On further inspection I noticed the impellor was spinning fine but when I shut the power off I can spin the augers freely. Under power, the main shaft from the impellor is spinning right up to the worm gear box.
Is this possibly a shear pin inside the gearbox or have I destroyed the gearbox?
I was going to remove the auger assembly to make any repairs or inspection easier. There are three bolts at each end of the main auger housing. Will this gearbox slide off the driveshaft or do I have to dismantle it first?
Thank you for any help you can supply.

·
Registered
143 Posts
Sound like the shear pins on the auger shaft did their job and sheared off.
The fix may be as simple as replacing those shear pins.
They look like bolts going through the auger and auger shaft.
Actually, I guess they are bolts, but don't replace them with standard bolts, buy replacement shear pins.

And yes, you may have destroyed the gear box, but check the shear pins first. Hopefully that's the problem.

·
Registered
200 Posts
If you see the auger shaft spin were it comes out of the gearbox were the augers ride on. Then it is for sure the shear pins check that first like CharlesW said.

·
Premium Member
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #4